Neuer is the best goalkeeper of the decade

Manuel Neuer has been honored by IFFHS in the World’s Best Goalkeeper category for the past decade (2011-2020).

Neuer is the best goalkeeper of the decade

Neuer is the best goalkeeper in the world for the past 10 years

Recently, the Federation of World Football Statistics and History (IFFHS) has announced the rankings by decade period (2011-2020). Most recently, the list of the 20 best goalkeepers in the past 10 years has been revealed. Not surprisingly, the highest position belonged to Manuel Neuer.

According to the results announced by the IFFHS, Neuer got a total score of 183. The goalkeeper of Bayern Munich is far ahead of the second ranked Gianluigi Buffon to 35 points (148). With what has been shown, he completely deserves this award.

Over the past 10 years, in the colors of Bayern and Germany, Neuer has achieved countless successes. In 2014, he and Die Mannschaft won the World Cup in Brazil. As for Bayern, the 34-year-old goalkeeper has won the UEFA Champions League twice (2013, 2020), 8 Bundesliga, 6 German Cup, 5 German Super Cup and 2 European Super Cup. Most recently, he and the Allianz Arena team won all titles in 2020, including the second great treble in the club’s history.

Personally, Neuer won the Golden Gloves award at WC 2014, having been honored by both UEFA and FIFA five times as the best goalkeeper and was voted Germany’s Best Player twice. In 2014, he also entered the top three candidates for the Golden Ball title and finished third, behind Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Notably, in the past decade, Neuer has had 5 years being named the Best Goalkeeper in the world by IFFHS. 2020 is the newest year, after 4 consecutive years he received this award (from 2013 to 2016). Thus, since the IFFHS began awarding in 1987, the Bayern goalkeeper is the third person in history to have been honored five times, after Iker Casillas and Gianluigi Buffon.

Neuer is the best goalkeeper of the decade - 2

Neuer won the Golden Gloves at the 2014 World Cup

Returning to the list of the best goalkeepers of the decade of IFFHS, Thibaut Courtois (130 points), Hugo Lloris (96 points) and Keylor Navas (93 points) are the remaining 3 names in the top 5. There are also other notable names such as Petr Cech (7th, 80 points), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (8th, 78 points), David de Gea (9th, 75 points), Iker Casillas (10th , 67 points) or Alisson Becker (11th, 64 points).

Specific list:

1. Manuel NEUER – 183 points
2. Gianluigi BUFFON – 148
3. Thibaut COURTOIS – 130
4. Hugo LLORIS – 96
5. Keylor NAVAS – 93
6. Jan OBLAK – 85
7. Petr CECH – 80
8. Marc TER STEGEN – 78
9. David DE GEA – 75
10. Iker CASILLAS – 67
11. ALLISON Becker – 64
12. Claudio BRAVO – 51
13. Victor VALDES – 49
14. Samir HANDANOVIC – 39
15. Joe HART – 30
16. Danijel SUBASIC – 23
18. Fernando MUSLERA – 15
19. Sergio ROMERO – 15
20. EDERSON Moraes – 15